AIMO was founded by Bharat Ratna Sir. M. Visvesvaraya in 1941. The organization has established itself as a body committed to Industrial progress with the motto "Prosperity through Industry". It has been recognized by Government as an apex organization of industry and given representation on most of the policy making bodies of the Central and State Governments.

  • Central Excise Regional Advisory Committee, Chennai II and III
  • State Labour Advisory Committee
  • Minimum Wages Advisory Committee
  • Good Industrial Relations Advisory Committee
  • Regional Workers Education Advisory Committee
  • SISI Advisory Committee
  • Regional Testing Centre Advisory Committee
  • State Consumer Protection Council
  • Anna University Planning & Monitoring Board
  • EPF Advisory Committee
  • ESI Regional Council
  • ESI Medical Council
  • State Employees Welfare Association
  • Labour Welfare Board
  • Service Tax Regional Advisory Committee

STRUCTURE : Members of AIMO are drawn from Small, Medium and Large scale from all over the country with diverse interests such as engineering, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, food processing and services. With headquarters in Mumbai, AIMO has State/Regional level boards elected annually, supported by Secretariats at headquarters and State Boards.

AIMO has been instrumental in creating an environment for co-operation between Government and Industry, in promoting and co-coordinating industrial and economic growth, and has worked for servicing trade and industry and the community.

In order to effectively represent industry, AIMO actively participates in over 150 National and State level Government and quasi Government bodies.

OPERATION : Over 40 Councils / Committees with experienced senior executives of member companies study and analyze various legislative and other matters of concern to industry and provide expert guidance to the National Working Committee of AIMO. Periodic workshops/training programme are organized to help members keep abreast of developments in industry.

Particular stress is made of the significant role of the small industry in national development. AIMO has been focusing attention on several areas to avoid sickness in industry.

Galaxy of Past Presidents
Name Year Name Year
Dr. M. Visvesvaraya 1941 Shri K.V. Srinivasan 1979
Shri Murarji J. Vaidya 1954 Shri N.M. Desai 1980
Shri S.N. Haji 1956 Dr. I.P. Poddar 1981
Shri N.D.Sahukar 1958 Shri Sumant J.Patel 1982
Shri G.V.Puranik 1960 Shri M.K. Mohta 1983
Shri Prabhu V.Mehta 1962 Shri Suresh Mehta 1984
Shri Hansraj Gupta 1964 Shri P.Maruthai Pillai 1985
Shri B.D. Somani 1966 Shri K.K. Khandelwal 1986
Shri Y.A.Fazalbhoy 1968 Shri Yograj Chauhan 1987
Dr. Pranlal J. Patel 1969 Shri R.M.Dujodwala 1988
Shri S.M.Dahanukar 1970 Shri Kamal M. Morarka 1989
Shri K.N. Modi 1971 Shri Vijay G. Kalantri 1991
Dr. B.V.Bhoota 1972 Shri V.Mohan Rao 1994
Shri Ram Agrawal 1973 Shri K.Dujodwala 1995
Dr. S.K. Somaiya 1974 Shri P.S. Kalani 2000
Shri Bipinbhai V.Mehta 1975 Shri Babulal Todi 2002
Shri S.P.Mandelia 1976 Shri A.K.Sen 2006
Shri M.R.Shroff 1977 Shri N.Tarachand Dugar 2012
Shri K.G. Khosla 1978 from 2016 present team  

Copyright © AIMO 2016. All Rights Reserved.